Cleaning & Maintenance Management Online
CM e-News Daily

APIC 2013 award winners announced

June 7, 2013

WASHINGTON — The Association for Professionals in Infection Control and Epidemiology (APIC) has announced the award winners for four of its prestigious honors given at the 2013 APIC annual conference taking place June 8-10, 2013, according to a press release.

The Heroes of Infection Prevention award honors 12 outstanding infection preventionists across the globe who have successfully reduced infection, raised awareness, and improved the health and well-being of patients, healthcare workers and the public, the release stated.

According to the release, other winners include:

  • The Carole DeMille Award: Candace Friedman, BS, MT (ASCP), MPH, CIC of Ann Arbor, Michigan
  • Distinguished Scientist Award: Elaine Larson, PhD, RN, FAAN, CIC, of New York, New York
  • Healthcare Administrator Award: John Calderone, PhD, CEO at Olympia Medical Center in Los Angeles.

Click here to read the release in its entirety.