View Cart (0 items)
Safety And Security

OR-OSHA announces 2010 Workers' Memorial Scholarships

August 02, 2010
/ Print / Reprints /
| Share More
/ Text Size+
SALEM, OR — Oregon Occupational Safety and Health Association (OR-OSHA) announced four 2010 Workers'' Memorial Scholarships will be presented this year, with the ceremony taking place August 19, according to a press release.
The scholarships are for use during the 2010-2011 school year and are paid for by interest earned on a fund derived from OR-OSHA civil fines and penalties, the release stated.
Besides one recipient who chose to remain anonymous, the nominees are: Brittany Ford, Amanda Morris and Marissa Becker, the release noted.
According to the release, Oregon OSHA''s Safe Employment Education and Training Advisory Committee makes recommendations for these annual awards, which were set up by the 1991 Legislature at the request of the Oregon AFL-CIO, with support from Associated Oregon Industries.
To be eligible, a high school graduate, graduating high school senior, GED recipient, or current college undergraduate or graduate student must be the dependent or spouse of an Oregon worker who has been fatally injured or permanently disabled while on the job, the release added.
Click here to read the complete release.
You must login or register in order to post a comment.